Home > Shopping > A clothes post.

A clothes post.

I apologize for the shitty quality of this picture, the fact that you can see my other shoes on the ground, the blazer on my bed, a bottle of lube and my cock in the background, and the fact that my posture is so weird.  I took it on a whim to illustrate what it means to me to wear a mix of men and women’s clothes, and how I think that women’s clothes can still look butch.  I am wearing from top to bottom:

  • J. Crew dress shirt, women’s
  • Fancy bra, Chantelle, women’s
  • Tie, thrift store, probably boy’s, because it fits me and I’m boy-sized.
  • Belt, Kenneth Cole, men’s
  • Fancy underwear, I forget, women’s
  • Martin+Osa khakis, women’s
  • Sperry Topsiders, men’s

As you can see, most of the clothes in this outfit are women’s clothes.  I would prefer to be wearing men’s underwear under these clothes, but men’s underwear creates visible lines under women’s clothing, so I don’t.  Otherwise, I like the way this looks, and it suits me as consistent with my identity and desired presentation.  There are those among us, me included, who could spot the women’s clothing as women’s clothing at a glance, but does that even matter? In my (very feminine) sister’s hands, these clothes would look totally different.  In fact, my sister owns some men’s clothes, and it never looks masculine on her.

Just another example of how silly the distinction between men and women’s clothing can be.  The most important thing is always fit – that it fits your body, your Self (with a capital S), and your sense of style.  I would put them in that order; that’s me. Would you?

P.S. Someday soon you will see my face.  I think.

P.P.S. Do you like posts like this?  I have steered away from clothing posts in recent months.  I’ve abandoned the idea that clothing is the important part of butchness – but everyone likes a butch fashion show…

Categories: Shopping
  1. Amanda
    August 11, 2010 at 10:45 am

    My gf favors the men’s skinny jean trend, and she wears fitted dress pants khakis, lately she has been wearing “no show” boxer briefs under her pants. You can find them in the men’s underwear section on targets website.
    She says they are comfy and I think they pretty sexy imho.

    • August 11, 2010 at 11:58 am

      Thank you for the tip! This is a good reason to have more clothes posts. I am far from an expert on clothing, and need to hear about others experiences. It helps! I bet other readers feel the same way.

  2. J Robinowitz
    August 11, 2010 at 11:44 am

    Clothes are hugely important to me as a Butch. I agree that men’s clothing can look feminine on certain women and that women’s clothes can look masculine; however, for me, wearing anything other than my bra that is meant or cut for women is uncomfortable, including underwear. In my experience, women’s clothes are cut to accentuate women’s bodies, namely, the curves; I hate having curves and do everything I can to hide them, including wearing clothes that are usually a size too big.

    It’s not that I disagree with you, it’s just that women’s clothes make me feel all, womany, and that makes me uncomfortable.

    • August 11, 2010 at 12:15 pm

      I don’t disagree with you either. Nobody should feel uncomfortable.

      And actually, part of the reason I steer myself towards women’s clothes in some regards and men’s clothes in others is that SOME men’s clothes actually make me feel more womany. They don’t hide what I want them to, and thus, draw more attention to it. I am thinking of a recent shopping experience. If I got the men’s shirt too big, then it fit and hid my hips and waist, but drew attention to how petite my shoulders, arms, and neck were. If I got the men’s shirt in the right size, then it fit my shoulders and arms, but drew attention to my hips and chest. I suspect our experiences are reflective of our (likely) very different bodies, and also our comfort with our butchness. (I’m still adjusting.)

      Incidentally, I notice you are using the right e-mail address this time! Thank you for commenting.

  3. Nebulous
    August 11, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    Woohoo! Absolutely agree on what fits is the best, that’s how I go about shopping for clothes. *Chants Fit! Self! Style! all the way to the shop*

  4. Marissa
    August 12, 2010 at 11:46 am

    Yes, keep em coming please! Thanks so much for all your advice.

  5. G
    August 14, 2010 at 2:33 pm

    I think you just have to go with what FEELS good on you. I didn’t always shop in the men’s department, but I do 99% of the time now (until I have to shop for bras, which is another story entirely). My point is that I went through a process, and I found a place where I feel comfortable. As long as you like the way it looks and feel like it matches you, then damn the rest.

    And I like the clothes posts, by the way. In my opinion, clothes aren’t the most important part of a butch; the energy is. I like seeing how everyone interprets and presents that energy.

    • August 18, 2010 at 7:15 am

      Yes, I was trying to say that in response to J, but couldn’t figure out how. I still feel that I am going through a process; I really have no idea if I will stay here or move on. But I THINK I will probably move on to wear more men’s clothes. I don’t know for certain though. I much prefer just calling it a day at a time and pulling out what I feel comfortable in, and noting when I feel uncomfortable in it by the end of the day.

      I like what you said at the end about interpretation.

  6. Stat
    August 15, 2010 at 5:29 pm

    My lady’s term is ‘the edge’ she uses it when she sees an andro/boi that has it all going on, the clothes, hair and the rest. I know what she means, its like tho whole thing works.

    My nurses uniform is a very fitted top and I wear trousers not a skirt, a patient the other day refered to me through the whole shift as a nice little fellow, her eyesight was not good but it really made my night!

    I find using combo’s of vintage/second hand & new boys/mens and womens clothing usually works out for me. In pants, I like lower cut waists with thicker fabric to square up but still shape my arse and deffo narrow, straight legs. Im small but with larger breasts but find singlet with good pants, good hair cut and strong ring/s and wrist band keep it boi enough.

    If you get it right its like people dont look through to the shapes underneath that you are not accentuating. I guess it’s like G says(above), it really is the energy that projects, the clothes just reinforce projected energy.
    Another good posting Harrison T.B and your photo looks tops, well dressed sir.

  7. Doctor What
    August 16, 2010 at 1:49 am

    Thanks for posting the picture and the article, it made me think about the way I usually dress (which I rarely do, strangely enough). All-male vintage oversized tweed blazers and oxford shirts that aren’t tucked in with cargo pants and basketball shoes…plus, hopefully a bowtie or a tie when I can actually learn how to put one on. The so-called “geek” classic, apparently (according to a few teasing friends). :P

    Comfort’s number one for me. Hate skirts- can barely move in ’em. Also, I have to agree with G- energy matters a lot more than clothes. At least, in my experience.

    • Doctor What
      August 16, 2010 at 2:11 am

      I rarely think about what I wear… to make my little quibble make more sense. Curse lack of coffee for my odd sentences. >>::

  8. Amanda
    December 1, 2010 at 4:10 pm

    I recently had to build a work wardrobe for my petite, thin yet muscular lady who refuses to even check out the women’s department

    We hit up men’s chain stores and found that if you are no larger than a b or small c cup men’s extra small in “modern fit” shirts and pants from mall brands like Express, Gap, and Perry Ellis work pretty well.

    Also H and M and Zara boys or men’s section is a must for cute sweaters/vests/button ups. A recent find at H and M was an adorable button up shirt/skinny tie combination.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

