Home > Introduction > How to (not) Feel like a Superhero

How to (not) Feel like a Superhero

I had a whole post about gendering pain and what pain feels like to me, but then life intervened and it doesn’t seem so appropriate for today.  My girlfriend and I went out for drinks last night and had one drink each with dinner (we’re not crazy!).  Then, we stood up and went to the bar across the street to maybe have one more.  We didn’t even touch it.  What I didn’t mention is that my girlfriend also donated blood yesterday afternoon.  Now before you all put on your mom faces, she’s had a drink after donation before without a problem.  But I guess we’re just getting older.  Because when we were standing in the bar, looking around, she looks at a couple of chairs, and says, “I don’t feel good. I want to sit down.”  So I got her to the chair and she sort of stumbled a bit.  And she said, “I don’t feel good” again.  I said I’d take her home, slung her purse around my shoulder, put her arms around me and walked her out to the sidewalk.  The bouncer at the door was like, “Is she okay? Too much to drink?” And I didn’t think so, I mean, if one drink knocks you out, Jesus Christ. 

But we got out to the street and then, I mean, she just collapsed.  I don’t even really remember what happened, I guess I must have held her up and taken her back to the sidewalk, where the bouncer and waitstaff ran out and grabbed her and started to ease her to the ground.  I whipped out my phone and called 911. 

Let’s talk about scary things.  Scary things include watching your girlfriend’s head fall backwards, her eyes open and completely dilated, and her lips totally white.  At the same time, I was like, “Everything’s fine. Everything’s okay.”  Which is just a good example of how completely in denial I would be if it were something more serious. In hindsight I should have realized something was wrong when she couldn’t sit up in a chair.  But everything’s fine and we probably did everything right.

We spent time at the ER, mainly to make sure she didn’t pass out again, but after a few hours there, she was starting to feel a lot better, her blood pressure was normal, I could feel a pulse through her skin, and she didn’t feel abnormally cold despite the fact that the temperature was actually warm.  She’s fine now.  But don’t ever scare me like that again, I swear to God.

Categories: Introduction
  1. G
    May 9, 2010 at 8:27 pm

    I had an incident kind of like before that with a gf, and it scared the hell out of me. I’m so glad she’s okay!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

