Home > Introduction > I did it!

I did it!

I went outlet shopping last week and had the most incredible experience.  I’m sure you can tell from the way that I talk about shoes that I’m kind of terrified of going into a store and asking for assistance on the men’s side.  Somehow, I put my fear behind me.  And by somehow, I mean that when my girlfriend is with me, I feel like Superman.  I had two things to cross off my list.  The first was a pair of jeans, and the second was a pair of shoes.

You guys, I did it! I just strolled on over to the men’s jeans. At one point, someone asked me for assistance, and I said, “Yes. Do you have these in a 32×30?” (that’s my size.) Then she said, “We should! I’ll look for them in the back. Does it matter that these are men’s jeans?” And I said, “Yes, that’s what I’m looking for.” Didn’t back down at all!  I ended up getting a pair of these, which are Calvin Klein skinny jeans.  I mentioned my size earlier in case any similarly sized butches wanted to try them on.

I had a lot of luck at Calvin Klein in general, because that’s where I got my first pair of butch shoes.  These, although the stitching on mine is slightly different.  All of the tips that I got from Sartorial Butch and Fit for a Femme really paid off.  I expected the shoes to feel very, very wide, and they didn’t.  If I could find a pair of shoes in a 7, they fit perfectly.  And – they looked incredible on.  I felt particularly awesome in a pair of stompy work boots.  Alas, it was not in the budget.  I needed some sensible shoes for work and play.  And, as a bonus, the shoes have a bit of an elongated toe, which has two benefits. One, it makes me look taller, which is good because I am short. Two, with the narrower pant leg of the jeans that I got, I look kind of dandyish, which I like.  I’m talking this much about clothes, because you wouldn’t believe how many search terms are related to clothes.  Well, you probably would.

The best thing was that the more I looked around, the better I felt about asking workers for assistance.  And furthermore, the better I felt in general.  The rest of my life doesn’t seem so scary now!

Categories: Introduction
  1. March 1, 2010 at 1:27 pm

    clothes are hugely important to identity in general, so it’s totally not superficial or anything.

    also, hooray!!!

  2. M
    March 1, 2010 at 2:04 pm

    Those shoes are hot. Glad your experience was so good. Yay!

  3. March 1, 2010 at 3:45 pm

    Mazel tov!

  4. March 1, 2010 at 4:07 pm

    I am so happy for you! Welcome to the dandy side :D

  5. March 1, 2010 at 8:55 pm

    Those shoes are amazing but you know, I’d love pics of the other stuff too! I can’t be the only narcissistic butch!

    • March 15, 2010 at 9:02 am

      Oh man, don’t encourage me. As soon as the floodgates open, this blog will just become one big MySpace vanity shoot.

  6. JB
    March 1, 2010 at 9:51 pm

    That is so cool! Feels great when you manage to hurdle something you’ve been having trouble with. *grins* Well done in going to the men’s dept and not backing down!

    J

  7. e
    March 2, 2010 at 12:59 pm

    Good for you! I like a dapper dandy butch! Throw in some gratuitous chivalry and the girls pretty much swoon.

    It gets easier, too. I know you are young, but at my age the best tool I have is my attitude. Which is mostly: either help me or fuck off. Just saying…

    • March 15, 2010 at 9:06 am

      I’ve noticed that about myself, actually. I definitely have cultivated an attitude of grim determination in stores. Unless someone offers to help me, I never smile. Which is strange, because I’m so SMILEY the rest of the time. :-) :-) :-) :-) :-)

  8. G
    March 3, 2010 at 8:37 pm

    I’m so glad you had a good experience. People can say it’s “just” a pair of shoes, jeans, etc, but it can feel incredibly empowering to wear clothes that make you feel like authentic yourself.

    It just gets easier …

  9. Kate
    July 12, 2010 at 7:54 pm

    Congrats! It shouldn’t matter that they are men’s jeans. Get what fits you!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

