Home > Basic Information > Foolproof Rules for Life

Foolproof Rules for Life

I don’t actually know if these are foolproof.  I developed them when I was 15 years old and had just come out to my parents (!!).  My mom turned around and said, “Look, I know you’ve been sad for so long, and I can’t help but think that not being sure how we’d take your being gay is part of it.  So…now you can snap out of it!”  These are the sorts of helpful-but-not-helpful things my mom says all the time.  You only realize that she’s right about four years later, and even that you took her advice to heart.  At the time, of course, I was a snarly teen, and said, “Yeah, RIGHT, Mooom.”  Oh well, now I’m turning into her.  Without further ado, meet my rules, largely unchanged since high school.

  1. Spend at least 30 minutes a day, doing something active with your body.
  2. Spend at least one hour a day, doing something you’d classify as “productive”.
  3. Spend at least one hour out of the house.
  4. Have one meaningful conversation a day with a friend.
  5. If you’re sad, listen to music that makes you happy.

The only thing that has changed is the wording “out of the house” – now that I live in Chicago instead of L.A.  It used to read “outside”, but had to change for obvious reason (sometimes, it’s negative 20, and I just really don’t care to be outside).

Categories: Basic Information
  1. January 8, 2010 at 3:04 pm

    so basic, but I can see how it works. Thanks for sharing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

