Home > Shopping > And what is good, Phaedrus?

And what is good, Phaedrus?

December 27, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Now that I’ve finished Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance, I have an empty space on my reading list.  I seem to be perpetually in the middle of Female Masculinity, but since it’s a dense theoretical text, my constant but mind-bogglingly slow progress doesn’t really bother me that much.  I also bought The Souls of Black Folk, since one of the best professors I had in college recommended that I read it.

Really though, after Zen I just want something easy but enjoyable.  I got a Kindle for Christmas, so it would be nice if, when I go skiing with the family next week, I actually use it.  (I love “real” books, but I’ll use your technology, world.)  I have been wanting to read The Nearest Exit May Be Behind You.  The part my mom was so excited over this Kindle for, though, was the fact that we get to share books.  I don’t know how I feel about her seeing this is what I want to read.  I know I should just swallow whatever it is that is making me feel suddenly shy about being queer in front of my mom – she’s met my girlfriend! She votes Democrat! She donated to Prop 8! But of course, I always feel a little bad anyway.

I’ll probably get it, and promptly devour it, so in the meantime, I should probably ask: what should I read next?

Categories: Shopping
  1. Barbara
    January 9, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    I seriously hope you read The Nearest Exit May Be Behind You! I got it for christmas and LOVED it. S. Bear Bergman is a genius, hir thoughts are amazing. So if you didn’t get around to it yet- read it! read it!

    • January 9, 2010 at 1:27 pm

      I did, in fact, read it! I took a lot of notes on it, and it sparked a LOT of thought in me. I have been drafting a post to deal with all of it, so – yes! It was great! Haha…but what now…Hm!

  2. ray
    February 24, 2010 at 5:34 pm

    This may be picky, but do you actually mean that she donated to Prop 8? Or did she donate against Prop 8? Because I would definitely feel shy about being queer around someone who voted for, or donated to, Prop 8, given that Prop 8 was the “anti gay marriage” proposition. Just thought I would ask for clarification.

    • February 24, 2010 at 8:49 pm

      That is picky, but it’s always good to clarify, particularly because the language around Prop 8 is so tricky. Be picky when it’s tricky, that is not my motto, but is a nice motto anyway. I meant that she voted for, and donated to, “No on 8”.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

