Home > Shopping > Butch Shoes

Butch Shoes

December 17, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

I try to keep myself on a budget, as I really enjoy the challenge of planning and executing my personal finances.  I realize how silly this sounds, but it’s a good fit with my personality.  I love plans, and I love numbers.  Not to mention it’s a particularly useful hobby to have.

So, in keeping with my budget, I allow myself one shopping trip a month, with one big purchase.  I also try to limit the number of smaller purchases, only letting myself get something if I feel like I absolutely need it.  Last month, I bought a coat, a hat, and a wallet, the coat being the big buy, and the hat and the wallet being necessities (I didn’t have a hat and life with short hair is freezing! And my wallet fell apart- my old wallet, and gigantic monstrosity that even the femmes in my life thought was ridiculous as a “femme wallet”).

What’s up for December? As you’ve probably already guessed, shoes.  I have always had a serious obsession with sneakers, since I was about 14.  If you’ve seen me out and about outside of work, you can place a $10 bet on my wearing sneakers, and you’ll win 80% of the time.  In fact, I just got a great pair of Onitsuka Tiger sneakers for my birthday that are amazing (not least of all because they are “unisex”…thanks Mom!).  But now I can’t wear sneakers, five days a week.  I’ve definitely felt the blow to my wardrobe.  I was wearing heels every once in a while, but frankly, with the snow, and the fact that I hate them, I’m ready to try something new. Not to mention, I’ve exhausted my only pair of dressy, heel-less shoes (not ballet flats – I hate ballet flats! They don’t stay on your foot and they really look silly on me.).

I’ve been a little lost, though. I’ve been looking on Zappos all month, trying to find a pair of loafers that I could wear into work, but truthfully, I can’t seem to overcome the programming that my mom put in me (she does not like loafers, unless they have a heel on them- I’ve got a pair of women’s wingtips like this that I grit my teeth and wear twice a month.).  I’ve never seen a pair of loafers on my feet, and it kind of scares me to make a purchase, even though I know all I have to do if I don’t like them is return them! That’s the magic of Zappos.  I know I just need to bite the bullet and go for it…just give me a little time to work through my feelings.  I’m a delicate butch…even though I love clothes, I hate shopping.

Categories: Shopping
  1. G
    January 9, 2010 at 1:36 pm

    If you prefer shopping online, I’d suggest you take at least one trip to the mall/store/whatever beforehand to get a sense of how things fit. I mean, I’m sure you know your shoe size, but knowing how men’s shoes fit (even some of the different brands) is a big help, too. Once you get that down, you can order online with some certainty (except when it comes to picking the actual shoe … that takes me forever).

    I like Aldo a lot too, both for price and quality of the non-sneaker shoes. Good luck!

    • January 11, 2010 at 2:01 pm

      I have Aldo checkmarked in the back of my head – I noticed when I wrote FFAF that M was usually wearing Aldo shoes. And you’re right, I definitely do need to go to the mall and see how shoes fit, but I’ve felt that that’s actually been holding me back. I’m very shy and am not sure that I’ll be able to ask a salesperson for help fitting men’s shoes. Although, as I’m saying this, I’m realizing that I’m good friends with the assistant manager of the shoe department at Nordstrom’s downtown, so maybe I just need to ask him to help me. Duh.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

